Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeAg NewsStabenow, Boozman Expect Votes on USDA, FSA Nominees

Stabenow, Boozman Expect Votes on USDA, FSA Nominees

Senate Ag Chair Debbie Stabenow says she’s hopeful the Senate will confirm three agriculture nominees this week by unanimous consent. The Hagstrom Report says Alexis Taylor is the nominee for USDA undersecretary for trade and foreign agricultural affairs. Jose Emilio Esteban is nominated for USDA undersecretary for food safety. Vincent Logan is the nominee for the Farm Credit Administration Board. Ag Committee Ranking Member John Boozman also hopes they can be confirmed this week. Under questioning, Taylor says she’ll work on difficult issues like Mexico’s potential ban on biotech corn. Logan, the chief financial officer with the Native American Agriculture Fund, repeatedly promised to work with young and beginning farmers. When answering questions, Esteban said he’s passionate about preventing salmonella and pledged to work together with all parties on “how we get there.” The Senate Finance Committee recently approved Doug McKalip’s nomination as Chief Ag Negotiator, and he’s waiting for Senate confirmation.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments