Farm Bureau Awards Distinguished Service Honors

Frank Lucas (R-OK) and former Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill received the American Farm Bureau’s 2023 Distinguished Service Award and Farm Bureau Founders Award, respectively. The awards are the highest honors presented by AFBF. Lucas and Hill will be recognized during the 2024 American Farm Bureau Convention January 17-24 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

AFB established the Distinguished Service Award in 1928 to honor individuals who have devoted their careers to serving the national interest in American agriculture. First presented in January 2017, the AFBF Founder’s Award for exemplary leadership, service, or contributions to Farm Bureau is presented in recognition of outstanding achievements and work in the interest of Farm Bureau.

Lucas is a fifth-generation Oklahoma farmer and Congressman who’s been a defender of agriculture for over 40 years. Hill was the longest-serving member of the Iowa Farm Bureau Board of Directors before retiring as president in December 2021.