USDA Appoints New Members to Minority Farmers Advisory Committee

The Department of Agriculture Wednesday announced the appointment of 15 new members to the Advisory Committee on Minority Farmers. The newly appointed members serve terms of up to two years.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack says, “This committee is part of USDA’s commitment to ensure that all farmers have equal access to USDA programs and services, especially minority farmers and producers in underserved communities.” Committee members represent socially disadvantaged farmers, nonprofit organizations, civil rights organizations or professions, and higher education institutions. Congress established the Advisory Committee for Minority Farmers in the Food Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 to ensure that underserved farmers have equal access to USDA programs.

Committee members advise the Secretary of Agriculture on the administration of the Outreach and Assistance for Socially Disadvantaged Farmers and Ranchers Competitive Grant Program. They also make recommendations to the Secretary on how to increase minority participation in USDA programs. Find more information, including a list of new members, on the committee website.